Tuesday, July 20, 2010

James McTamney & Co, Inc celebrates 150th anniversary

This year, Toronto jeweller James McTamney & Co, Inc celebrates its 150th anniversary. McTamney’s is renowned for its fine selection of vintage and new jewellery, watches, custom jewellery design, intriguing selection of giftware, and superb customer service.

McTamney’s began in 1860 when John Fleming and two partners founded a land bailiff operation. They quickly diversified: today McTamney’s is pre-eminently a jeweller. In the late 1880s, Fleming hired McTamney, who gradually bought out Fleming, completing the deal in 1908. McTamney renamed the business James McTamney & Co. His descendents have been owner/operators ever since: Current President Chris Shortt and his wife Floreen, who is Vice President, are the fourth generation, and their son Jeffrey, who is in sales, is the fifth.

McTamney’s has been at its present location at 139 Church Street since 1916. It is as much a Toronto landmark as the Metropolitan Church across the street. To mark the anniversary, McTamney’s is hosting a “then and now” celebration, Gold Rush Days, for 250 distinguished guests. The store is “now,” showcasing McTamney’s vendors. Guests enjoy refreshments before ambling across Church Street to “then”, a marquee tent on the grounds of the Metropolitan Church. More refreshments will be served while guests listen to live music. The event will be held on September 16, 2010.

McTamney’s is publishing a keepsake book, “Good as Gold” and sponsoring a design competition for students in the Jewellery Design program at George Brown College, Toronto. $150 from every piece sold goes to the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation.

No comments:

Post a Comment