Tuesday, July 27, 2010

WJA awards $20,000 in student scholarships

The Women’s Jewelry Association Scholarship Committee has awarded $20,000 in scholarships to six students. Funds for the scholarships are generated through donations and purchases during the Silent Auction held in conjunction with WJA’s Awards for Excellence Gala. This year, the gala will be on Mon., July 26 at Pier 60 in New York City.

Lisa Slovis Mandel, WJA national scholarship chairperson, explained that WJA offered scholarships in two categories: 1) Designer scholarships based on slide entries of finished pieces, and 2) Non-designer scholarships based on essays from students training to become bench jewelers, appraisers, gemologists, retailers, and other jewelry career professionals. The association received applications from students attending 40 different schools.


$5,000 June Herman Scholarship
Sara Gallo-Cornell – Millersville University of Pennsylvania
Gallo-Cornell is pursuing a Bachelor of Science in education and a Bachelor of Fine Arts. She would like to inspire future generations of art students and help them through the learning process.

$3,500 Scholarship
Hyeyeon Park– Rhode Island School of Design
Park impressed the jurors with her unique draping of jewelry over the shoulder and at the neckline. She will be starting her Master of Fine Arts program in the fall.

$3,500 Scholarship
Jungwha Kim – Long Beach City College
Kim has been inspired by abstract painting to incorporate found objects into her metalwork, meeting the challenge of creating fine jewelry with these undefined organic forms.

$2,500 Scholarship
Avery Lucas – University of Massachusetts-Dartmouth

$2,000 Scholarship
April Field – University of the Arts-Philadelphia


$3,500 Scholarship
Brittany Cox – West Dean College, Conservation of Clocks
Cox is studying to become a mechanical music, automaton conservationist. She has completed a one-year SAWTA/WOSTEP certified Swiss Watch Making School and is presently at the West Dean College in England. Cox is WJA’s first recipient enrolled in a program outside the United States.

Scholarship Program:
On behalf of the scholarship winners, WJA thanks those who contributed to the Scholarship Program through donations and purchases during the Silent Auction, which is held in conjunction with WJA’s Awards for Excellence Gala, This year, the gala will be on Mon. July 26 at Chelsea Pier in New York City. The association gratefully acknowledges all sponsors for their contributions, including the generous support of the Marilyn DaSilva Fund.

The Scholarship Committee comprises Lisa Slovis Mandel (Scholarship Committee chairperson), Jayne Schultz, Belinda Duva, Karen Golembeski, Karen Janowski, Kendra Bridel-Weinman, Lita Asscher, Corrie Slivia, Carole Diamond, Kimarie Brunette, Betty Sue King, Alix Hart, and Anne Blumer.

No comments:

Post a Comment